Tout Rennes court – all Rennes runs. And indeed it appeared that all people of Rennes were either running through the streets or standing along the route to support runners. I am not a sports photographer, so my pictures are quite dull – maybe something to work on in future. However, for this I would need a good long focal lens – not really worth the investment.
Anyhow – it was the ideal weather for a race: sunny and mild.

I was walking along the Vilaine towards the city center, when I saw the first people waiting for the runners.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

and just from the other side:

When I came closer to the center I first heard this small group of women and girls – cheering the runners and spurring them with their “allez, allez.”
18 allez

And then close to the Place de Republique it seemed the race got to its end – both geographically as well as temporal. More and more runners were on the street


and it got difficult for pedestrians to cross the street. They had to run in order not to interfere with the runners.
22 crossing

I do not know, how many people participated, but I guess at least 13513.
25 13513

While I am sitting in a cafe (still no internet at home) number 11715 comes in – not running, also not slow and exhausted. I guess he really enjoys his glass of beer.

Written by bihua

I worked and lived in Baku in Azerbaijan since September 2012 and started the blog "Life in Baku". End of August 2015 I moved to Rennes in France with the 365 project in my new blog "Life in Rennes".

1 comment

Leave a Reply

