Yesterday I took you on a on a walk along the beach. While this was enjoyable and I still feel the wind on my face, it also had a purpose. I was on my way to the salty marshes, which just start at the end of the small community.

Actually most of the small lakes and ponds that I saw are just that: pond and lakes amd you have to believe as I just did, that it is salty water. Nobody else was walking in this area and no sounds of civilization, only insects humming, broom bushes buzzing by shimmering heat, and birds chirping. The small lakes are surrounded by reedm grass or summer flowers.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And finally I also found some salt fields – I am not so sure how actively they are still cultivated. The first appeared to be not any longer cared of, at the second utensils testified of recent work and at the third distant white piles were the result of an unseen paludier, the people who harvest the salt from the salt fields. I guess a paludier in action has to wait for a visit to Guérande.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Written by bihua

I worked and lived in Baku in Azerbaijan since September 2012 and started the blog "Life in Baku". End of August 2015 I moved to Rennes in France with the 365 project in my new blog "Life in Rennes".

Leave a Reply

