Finally, after an already long day it is time for the dance competition. In total eight groups were qualified, each group performing for probably 20 minutes. I was surprised by the professionalism – first, all had their own choreography, combining traditional dance with new elements, all told a story. And many of them had quite colorful costumes, creating an identity. And finally they all had their own music played by their musicians.

So, let’s have a look and for some also a “hear”.

I do not cover all of the eight groups – my criteria is more driven by the pictures I could take rather than their performance.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And now let’s listen and watch.

After four groups performing there was a break – I guess everybody needed to drink something. It was quite hot. And it was a good opportunity to take more pictures.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And after the break I first walked around for a while, taking different perspectives.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

16a from behind

And from here I had the same perspective as the young woman on her competitors – just watch them for a while. I wonder what went on in her head.

Finally I found a seat quite close to the stage: only the press was between me and the performers. And not only the press, but also a painter who sketched the scenes of dance.
From the last batch I liked them most – they were so full of life. They were also chanting with great enthusiasm.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It was a competition, but I do not know who won. From my point of view, all were great. I liked a lot the idea of painting in parallel to the dance, paying attribute to the painters Paul Gauguin and Paul Serrieur.

Written by bihua

I worked and lived in Baku in Azerbaijan since September 2012 and started the blog "Life in Baku". End of August 2015 I moved to Rennes in France with the 365 project in my new blog "Life in Rennes".

Leave a Reply

